Multiple Doors

I am fond of creating a theme within a theme in my posted images. When I discovered Norm’s Thursday Doors (or, to be more precise, after Norm found my blog), I tried to think of different ways to group my door images so that the doors could be categorized in some way for each blog post.

This week, I have chosen “multiple” as my theme for doors. Coincidentally, all images include multiples of three. All of these doors were found in Toronto.

Multiple doors are usually associated with the exiting requirements for large and high-occupancy buildings. My first two images – Massey Hall and the Horse Palace – are good examples of this.

Massey Hall was described in one of my previous blog posts as it was one of my Open Doors Toronto destinations in May 2017. The bright red doors are very distinctive, and will hopefully survive the pending upgrade to this concert venue.

The Horse Palace has an art deco facade, and these “people’s” entry doors complement the art deco design. The Horse Palace is located at Exhibition Place, and was opened in 1931 as one of several facilities that accommodate the Canadian National Exhibition (CNE) and the Royal Agricultural Winter Fair. It includes stables and a riding ring, and it is used by the Toronto Police Services mounted unit and a public riding academy. The entry doors were restored in the 1990’s.

massey hall multiple cw
Massey Hall entrance
horse palace multiple cw
The Horse Palace people’s entrance

Toronto Fire Station 423 also has a trio of doors. It took a couple of visits for me to be able to photograph the station when all three doors were closed.

A closer examination of this image reveals some interesting aspects of the fire hall. Note the four fire hydrants that are located in front of the pillars that separate the doors. I don’t know if the hydrants are functional or not. The fire hall also underwent a name change some time in the past. The remnants of the previous name “Fire Hall No. xx” can be seen under the current name. The fire hall likely got renumbered after the amalgamation of six municipalities in 1998 to create metro Toronto. The numbering of fire halls is not something that one would usually consider – until a need emerges to renumber them all. I also like the sign on the far left – “Make Your Intention … Fire Prevention.” We are often asked to consider our intentions – this is a worthwhile one.

fire station 423 multiple cw
Toronto Fire Station 423

6 thoughts on “Multiple Doors

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.