Black & White Sunday Photo Challenge – Ceiling

Some blogging photo challenges inspire me more than others. This month I found some inspiration in Paula’s Lost in Translation Black & White Challenge: Ceiling.

Two images from London, England, immediately came to my mind as worthy of posting on my blog. Both ceilings are examples of functional architecture, bringing daylight into a central and otherwise enclosed space.

Covent Garden Market was opened in 1830, and was designed to enclose an outdoor market that had been on the site since the late 17th Century. This photograph was taken in December – hence the Christmas decorations hanging under the skylight.

The Tate Modern Gallery is housed in a repurposed power plant on the south bank of the Thames. The Bankside Power Station was rebuilt after WWII as an oil-fired electricity generating plant, and this skylight was originally located over the turbine room, which is now the main entrance hall to the Tate.

LiT-ceiling-Covent Garden cw
Covent Garden Market
LiT-ceiling-Tate Modern cw
Tate Modern Gallery

2 thoughts on “Black & White Sunday Photo Challenge – Ceiling

  1. These are both very inspiring examples that I hope will make more people tackle black and white photography. I haven’t been to Covent Garden, but if I go back to London I will make sure to go there. That’s a beautiful image, and Tate – I would never recognise it from this angle 😉 Very industrial! I love your entry Nick.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.