Gallery

Doors of the UK and Ireland – Part 1

From a young age I have always been interested in topical collections. My first memories from childhood include collecting matchbook covers and swizzle sticks. My matchbook covers were usually collected on the streets near home. Swizzle sticks often came from further afield, including vacations with my parents, when we would be served drinks with a swizzle stick for stirring – usually just a Coke for me!

Later on, I started to collect stamps with a common theme. My choice was to collect stamps from around the world that pictured airplanes, which evolved to include rockets and satellites once we entered the space age.

In photography, my first topical collection was based on circles, and I printed many black and white images of circles, which I mounted onto cardstock. Those prints are long gone now. More recently, I have been collecting digital images of front doors during my travels.

Doors can vary in design, size and colour depending where you are in the world. I have included a few images of residential doors that I have discovered and enjoyed in England and Ireland.

blue-door-no-2-cw
Blue door with porthole – Ireland
red-floral-door-cw
Red door – Cornwall
blue-door-cw
Blue door and gate – Ireland
22 thoughts on “Doors of the UK and Ireland – Part 1

  1. Hello Nick. I found this by doing a tag search for doors.
    These are lovely – especially that first blue one with the porthole. You should know that you are not alone in your love for doors.
    On my blog I host a weekly feature called #ThursdayDoors where several dozen of us get together each week to share some of our favourite door discoveries.
    Please feel free to swing by and add this post to our link-up list. Just look for the blue button near the end of my post. We accept entries each week between Thursday morning and mid-day on Saturday.
    Cheers 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fabulous photos. I look forward to seeing more. This week was my first attempt at Thursday doors – a subject that has fascinated me for a long time – and obviously a lot of other people too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

