Cee’s Which Way Photo Challenge: Signs

I couldn’t help but post a few images in response to Cee’s Which Way Photo Challenge. The opportunities certainly are limitless! A common theme in my selected images is falling or going downhill.

Driving a car in another country can be challenging. Especially when you are driving on the other side of the road, and on narrow roads, such as in the Lake District in NW England. When I first saw the traffic sign in my first image, I had no idea what to make of it. Watch out for low flying motorcycles overhead?

I still haven’t got it all figured out. There’s a hill ahead – got it. There is no red diagonal across the round sign, so it looks like it’s OK to do something, but what is it?

cwwc-downhill
Steep grade ahead

This second image is from Ireland. The message is quite clear – the earth is flat and if you get too close to the edge you will fall off.

I am sure that there is a good reason for placing this sign here. Ireland can be a very foggy place, so if you can’t see very far ahead when you are driving down this road, maybe you would be in danger of falling off the end of the jetty. It probably happened to someone – hence the warning sign.

cwwc-end-of-the-road
End of the road

My third image is taken from a walk along the coastal path in Cornwall. We have done a lot of walking on footpaths in England, but the message on this sign will certainly motivate you to keep on the straight (not usually) and narrow (most of the time).

I hope that you enjoy these photos – please feel free to add your comments and suggestions.

cwwc-mine-shafts
Danger of death

2 thoughts on “Cee’s Which Way Photo Challenge: Signs

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.